Home > General > I’m An Introvert

I’m An Introvert

Psychology Today says that an introvert is someone like the following…

If a crowded cocktail party feels like a holding cell to you, even as you gamely keep up your end of the chatter, chances are you’re an introvert. Introverts are drained by social encounters and energized by solitary, often creative pursuits. Their disposition is frequently misconstrued as shyness, social phobia or even avoidant personality disorder, but many introverts socialize easily; they just strongly prefer not to. In fact, the self-styled introvert can be more empathic and interpersonally connected than his or her outgoing counterparts. The line between introversion and lonely loners gets blurry, however, as some introverts do wish they could break out of their shell.

There’s a lot of myths about introverts. I can tell you from my own experiences that I can relate to the person who’d rather stay in than go out. It’s not about ‘going out’. I’d rather spend my time with a few good friends compared to a lot of acquaintances. I certainly know how to be social — knowledge or experience isn’t the issue. It’s more about preference.

I’m not alone in my introvertedness. Here’s a few famous introverts:

  • Abraham Lincoln
  • Candice Bergen
  • Glenn Close
  • Audrey Hepburn
  • Helen Hunt
  • Gwyneth Paltrow
  • Julia Roberts
  • Clint Eastwood
  • Harrison Ford
  • Tom Hanks
  • Alfred Hitchcock
  • Steve Martin/li>
  • Johnny Carson
  • Matt Lauer
  • David Letterman
  • Diane Sawyer
  • Barbara Walters
  • Albert Einstein
  • Steven Spielberg
  • Charles Darwin
  • Angelina Jolie
  • Johnny Depp
  • Mahatma Gandhi
  • Jim Carrey
  • J.K. Rowling
  • Steve Wozniak
  • Michael Jackson
  • Keanu Reeves
  • Lady Gaga

Here’s a little more backup…

All this really means is that I feel refueled/recharged by spending time by myself or with very close friends. It has nothing to do with the accomplishments I can achieve!

via rob’s place http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/orangejack/rob/~3/S3PSR8RxuAQ/

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

